News:

Available now!.. "Down the Rhodes: The Fender Rhodes Story" (book & documentary) More...

Main Menu

Yamaha P90 stage piano

Started by ahrho, January 03, 2009, 05:47:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ahrho

Am thinking of buying Yamaha p90 for rehearsals, anyone any experience of these? Seems sturdy enough? (i've seen a cautionary tale in another thread - but electronics is always electronics i guess)

Seems to have a pianolike decent action and to me better piano sounds than the Rolands. Not convinced by eps so much on either though. Gator hard case isn't too heavy, seems odd to me carrying electronics about on wheels but I guess everyone does it...

Any thoughts?
1976 Mk1 73 Stage
Yamaha U3
Yamaha P90

funk5

Well, I have plenty of experience with the P120 and thought it was great for acoustic piano. Rhodes wasn't bad and clav was surprisingly good.  It has the same graded hammer action.  I don't know for sure but I think the sounds are pretty much the same minus the speakers on the p90.  Go for it, but are you getting used, because if not I wouldn't pay the money for it new, find a used one and save some cash, or find a yamaha s90 or s90es (bulkier, but better action and you get great pianos, ep's plus a decent synth).

The Real MC

I own a P90, it's an excellent board and will meet your needs for rehearsals.  Excellent pianos and EPs.  Even the Hammond is passable.

sea_king

the P90 is an awesome piano! i have one except it doesnt work very well.

see my thread here: http://ep-forum.com/smf/index.php?topic=4809

Its strange though, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesnt, unfortunately i dont know anything about electronics so i cant try to fix it.

I think it will deffinitely suit your needs. In my opinion the acoustic piano sounds are STUNNING, and the EP sounds arent all that bad.

just make sure it works before you bring it home, haha!
1977 Mark 1 Stage 88

ahrho

Thanks guys, really helpful info.