News:

Follow us on Twitter for important announcements and outage notices.

Main Menu

200 regulation, Newbie here looking for advice

Started by citysoundman, October 06, 2022, 09:46:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

citysoundman

Hi folks,
I've got a model 200 that I bought for my recording studio back in the late '90s. (I owned a one room studio on B'way and Bleecker in NYC). I think I bought it from another studio so it's overall in decent shape. Manufacture date is March 5, 1968 handwritten on lowest key (thanks to the How To Date thread!).

It's got some uneven tone and action, and one key that is sticky. Also a bad buzz in the amp, but I'm gonna hold off on asking about the amp for the moment.

I've been reading a lot of threads here and looking at Tropical Fish and VV for great info. I started by removing the amp rail, the keys, and felts for the front and balance pins so I can give the keybed a good cleaning. Everything looks pretty good. I have a few questions to help get me started:

Without the amp connected I can't hear the electronic output (obviously). Is regulation a process that is done as a mechanical adjustment only, without concern for the output? So it's fine not to worry about hearing the amplified signal? I do plan on looking at the reeds and making tonal adjustments...but should I separate the mechanical work from the tonal work?

There were some thin paper circles under some of the small white felts on the balance pins. After removing these I read on Tropical Fish to note where these 'shims' were since they help to balance the keys. Of course I pulled them without making a note as to which keys they were on! Does this really make a difference? The paper is so thin I have a hard time believing they make a difference in key balance...but maybe?

I've read about lubing different parts, including the pins. ProTek CLP is recommended for the action so I plan on getting this. Before I put the keys back on should I lube all the pins using ProTek?