Poll

What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?

Suitcase
18 (17.8%)
Super Satellite
2 (2%)
Janus I
4 (4%)
Fender Twin
14 (13.9%)
Roland JC-120
9 (8.9%)
Other
51 (50.5%)
I Don't
3 (3%)

Total Members Voted: 92

Voting closed: September 12, 2006, 01:14:07 AM

Author Topic: What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?  (Read 105607 times)

Offline james

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 538
    • View Profile
    • Rhodes Super Site
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« on: September 12, 2006, 01:14:07 AM »
A very hot topic, I know....
Web Designer/Developer, Webmaster & Co-Creator
The Rhodes Super Site since 1996
1977 Mark I Stage 73 + Vintage Vibe Stereo Vibe

Offline james

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 538
    • View Profile
    • Rhodes Super Site
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2006, 01:18:48 AM »
I use the guitar input on my DR-880 drum machine as a preamp + multi f/x, then run the output to whatever works for the gig (either the aux inputs on the Motion Sound KBR-M that I use with the VK-8, or direct to the soundboard).  There's a preset amp model patch called "Cool Crunch" that just sounds wicked!
Web Designer/Developer, Webmaster & Co-Creator
The Rhodes Super Site since 1996
1977 Mark I Stage 73 + Vintage Vibe Stereo Vibe

Offline Mark II

  • Mark V
  • *****
  • Posts: 1202
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2006, 02:50:37 AM »
I use a Behringer Vamp 2 (guitar) for headphone exercise. I altered the twin reverb amp model a bit to my needs. Awesome sound.

Since a couple of weeks a own a fender champ 12. 18W all tube, reverb and low end frequency response lacks a bit but I dont care as I got it for a fair price. nice sound, i prefer it the crunchy way. the second channel is almost impossible to apply as the volume and gain pot are more like switches ;-)
a tiny bit of move makes a big change in the sound so I need a very calm hand to set it up to my needs. not he best soluton, I nab myself thinking about selling it especially as I am looking for a decent stereo tremolo and 2 amps/PA.

Mark II
Rhodes Stage 73 Mark II 1980 / modified Peterson Suitcase Preamp

Offline HammondToby

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 139
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/hammondtobymusic
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2006, 03:52:18 AM »
I voted for the Twin, but there is no option for two Twins ;-) Beeing honest: the second one belongs to a guitar player who uses it not too often and I can have it, if he doesn't need it.

And well, no option for the JC-160... but I've got one...
1981 MK II Stage 73 > MXR Phase 100 > Boss CE-1 >  Twin Reverb (livesetup)
1980 MK II Stage 73 > Reussenzehn Max Röhrig > Dunlop TS-1 > Boss DD6 > Roland Jazz Chorus 160 (homeuse)
http://www.myspace.com/hammondtobymusic
http://www.soulyla.de/

Offline Spookyman

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2006, 10:04:31 AM »
Edit :

Yes, it changed...Now I'm playing my Fender Rhodes mk I on a Fender Twin Reverb Silverface.

And some other effects like Phaser, Wah, etc...
Fender Rhodes Stage 1971
Fender Rhodes Suitcase 1973

Offline Swatkins

  • Sparkletop
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Amps
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2006, 08:58:45 PM »
I've got my Mark V going into a Musicman HD-150 (w/ built in phaser!) and a 4x12 cab.

My Mark II stage is going into a 1964 Fender Super Reverb.

Sweet!  :wink:

Offline andi85

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 651
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2006, 05:31:40 AM »
Fender HotRod Deluxe. No Twin, but it sounds nice and will be enough for most occasions.
Tuning instruments makes the band sound thin!

Offline learjeff

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • http://learjeff.net
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2006, 01:33:51 PM »
I clicked "I don't" meaning I usually run it direct.  But it sounds great through my Fender Blues Deluxe.  (More so than my guitar, actually ...)

Offline JJ

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2006, 04:24:22 PM »
I use an Alesis Sumo 300 system for my rhodes. It has suberb sound quality with dual speakers allowing for excellent highs and solid bass.

Also the rotary effect kinda resembles the tremolo and it has enough power to reinforce a band including my rhodes.

Still I'd like to get myself a Fender twin reverb just to be authentic.

Offline Uptownruler

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2006, 08:32:29 PM »
Mostly depends on the gig, but...I used to use a suitcase exclusively until I started having problems with it.  Now I have a Fender Hot Deluxe (112) that I use at times, and others a Fender Hot Rod Deville (410).  I'm certainly satisfied with both, but sometimes desire a wee bit different sound.
You can't hold no groove, if you ain't got no pocket.

81' Rhodes 73 stage piano > Morley Bad Horsie 2 > Small Stone Phase 90 > Fender Hot Rod Deluxe

Offline tdintbl

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • http://sentience.yoyofreak.net
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2006, 10:14:39 PM »
Usually my guitar amp, a Crate FXT-120. Someday I'll get a Twin Reverb but that's a buttload of money years in the future.

Soundclick: Because I must join the herd!

Offline toddague

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Preamps
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2007, 11:19:50 AM »
I either use a BBE Acoustimax (for smaller gigs w/ a mono signal), or one or two Speakeasy Vintage preamps: the Suitcase Vibrato pedal for basic/tremolo preamping into two amps, or the Suitcase Vibrato going into a Speakeasy two-channel tube preamp for bigger gigs.  It's also possible to just use the Speakeasy Suitcase Vibrato pedal with the vibrato turned to off so it can run mono...
Rhodes 1976 and 1978 Mark 1 Stage 73s, Speakeasy Vintage and BBE Preamps, Bose LP1 and MotionSound amps

Offline rocksnob

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2007, 03:04:34 AM »
I use a Fender HotRod Deluxe, sound pretty nice I think.

Offline hadoq

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2007, 03:40:24 PM »
I was using whatever amps before, but last week I got a vox valvetronix 30W thingy wich is not bad at all (guitar amp) I'll get a twin reverb when I'll be rich enough ^^
Mark I EightyEight - what year ? My piano found me

Offline Pale

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 224
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2007, 05:06:51 AM »
I used a small Carvin tube amp ( only 15W !!! ), and the sound was gorgeous! I played my RHodes through a twin reverb a month ago, and I can say that it sounded better through the Carvin ( maybe it was a bad Twin, I don't know...). The only drawback was that it's a 15W amp, pretty loud, but just a bit underpowered for my needs.
'80. Stage 73 Mk II

Offline SWANG

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2007, 02:29:33 PM »
Lately, I have been playing my Mark I through a Peavey Classic Chorus 212.  75 watts.  Beautiful sound.  In fact, I never much liked the amp before I put my Rhodes through it.  But man, what a sound.
1972 Mark I Stage 73 with Vintage Vibe "Stage Vibe" custom preamp

Ok, bye!!!

Offline blakebratton

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/blakebrattonmusic
Amps
« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2007, 01:53:50 PM »
I'm currently using a '63 Fender Vibroverb with my '78(I think) Mark I Stage 73. It sounds great through that, plus I've got good vibrato built in.

Offline Musicman

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2007, 02:42:28 AM »
I run my 1977 mk1 73 through a 1971 ampeg V2 head with a matching 1971 ampeg 2x15 cab.


OH MY GOD its beautiful ...........


       :P

Offline matt.musicman

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2007, 04:44:10 PM »
Right now I'm running my stage through an original Ampeg VT-22. It sounds great. There are many adjustments to the tone you can play with. It can be VERY heavy on the mids though.
Matt

Offline Musicman

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #19 on: March 22, 2007, 03:19:42 AM »
yes its interesting how heavy in the mids those amps can be. I think this may be because in general guitar players used these amps and so the tubes are biased for this. I would love to have a professioanl rhodes guy rebias my tubes specifically for a rhodes and see the difference. What cab do you have? Have you found any effects pedals that work wonders with the ampeg?

Cheers

Offline matt.musicman

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #20 on: March 23, 2007, 04:23:38 PM »


There she is. I think the picture is kind of fuzzy though.  

I have yet to try any effects, I usually just run straight into the amp.  Do you have any that you recommend??

I have used a Crybaby 95Q Wah-Wah pedal. I didn't think that the pedal picks up and plays with the tone frequencies to my liking, but I'm still experimenting with it.  Plus I do not like the "no switch" feature because it adds a delay to the signal when I depress the pedal. If there was no delay I would like it a lot more, but I think I might return it because of this.
Matt

Offline Stevil

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • http://www.brainwashaudio.com/
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2007, 01:45:25 PM »
i been running a line out thru a pod2.0. recently switched to a caesound output so i can use the onboard pre. mix goes to a pair of jbl eon's.
Mark II 88 Suitcase

Offline kuehne

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #22 on: May 05, 2007, 11:24:53 AM »
I'm currently using the JC-120. It sounds nice, but I've never played it on a Twin, so I can't say that the JC-120 is the amp of my dreams.
1977 Mark I Stage 73

Offline 4kinga

  • Sparkletop
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #23 on: May 09, 2007, 06:52:02 AM »
I run my rhodes MK II through a early '80's Fender Concert.  The original speaker was replaced with a jbl 12s.  It sounds good, but I have to turn the lows all the way down, boost the mids and run the highs about mid-way.

Offline picassoface

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Stage 88
« Reply #24 on: May 14, 2007, 09:54:43 PM »
I've been running my '79 Stage 88 through a Dynacomp, Seymour Duncan pickup booster, Small Stone Nano phaser, Danelectro tremolo and Boss EH-2 enhancer into a small Mackie board.  One side of the stereo out feeds a JBL Eon 15 on stage and the other gets DI'd to the house.  Sometimes I feed the house through a SansAmp Bass DI, sometimes a tube pre.  I'm still looking for the right thing.  Next thing I want to try is the Boss FDR-1, a stompbox that emulates a '65 Deluxe Reverb.

I like a big, clean sound on stage, though, as opposed to a tube amp.  Monitoring-wise, it's easier to find myself onstage amongst all the overdriven guitar if the Rhodes is clean.  I'm the singer too, so I buss my vocal through the Eon onstage too.  Headroom for days.

Out front they can grime it up all they want- they have my blessing.

Offline Ivories

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #25 on: May 27, 2007, 05:49:18 AM »
I've been using a Roland Cube 60. For me, it is just right.

With the amp shaping ability, I can pull various sounds from the one amp and it has some serious kick!

The effects are great, it is a pity that you can't change certain parameters i.e. depth, feedback etc. only the rate.

Kel
I DO NOT have two heads!!!

Offline joseph

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #26 on: June 21, 2007, 04:51:04 AM »
i used to use a jc120, but didn't like it, now i'm going pretty much straight into the pa. i kinda fatten the rhodes up per insert with ensoniq dp4 though.

Offline SWANG

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #27 on: August 02, 2007, 01:43:44 AM »
last weekend, i did an outdoor gig.  put my stage through a 100 watt vht pitbull.  here was my reaction:



 :o  :)  :D  :mrgreen:  8)  :D
1972 Mark I Stage 73 with Vintage Vibe "Stage Vibe" custom preamp

Ok, bye!!!

Offline Martin Borgh

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #28 on: August 21, 2007, 06:52:10 PM »
Right now I use a Fender FM212 wich actually sounds very nice! Before that I had a JC120 but didnt like it som much. The Fender FM212 is clean like the JC120 but do have that litte extra sound of a Fender amp.

If i dont want to carry a amp I just use i VOX Tonelab, works damn nice!
1974 Fender Rhodes 88, Wurlitzer 200, Clavinet D6, Crumar Organizer, Hammond L122, Leslie 760, Music Man HD100, Fender Twin Reverb, MOOG LP, Nord Electro 3, EHX Effects

Offline peteblues

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
What kind of amp do you use with your Rhodes?
« Reply #29 on: August 22, 2007, 04:09:32 PM »
I'm running my Rhodes directly into my Mackie mixer, and from there into the PA The sound is actually really nice, the Mackie preamps give it the extra juice I want.