Author Topic: dyno tri-stereo tremolo  (Read 6536 times)

Offline jim

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/cyberjimpatterson
dyno tri-stereo tremolo
« on: October 02, 2007, 06:53:25 PM »
can anybody tell me what voltage/ampage the tri-stereo wants?
this thing has been played with by every man and his dog.

and why would there be a seperate power setup for the pre amp and the tremolo?

can the tremolo run on two 9v batteries?

it says on the underside of the circuit board +7.5 and -7.5
someone told me AC and the diode config would indicate AC too i guess.

or is there any chance the power supply that works with a dyno pre-amp would work with a tri-stereo?

any info would be greatly appreciated.

actually what i'd like is an enormous rant from someone about this subject, that would be great.

-Jim

Offline Ben Bove

  • Vendor
  • MIDI Mark V
  • *****
  • Posts: 3279
  • Formerly bjammerz
    • View Profile
    • Retro Rentals Website
dyno tri-stereo tremolo
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2007, 07:15:40 PM »
Ok well I'll have to check on mine, but I have that Percussion Pedal Dyno, and the power supplies if I remember correctly that worked were around the 15-18 range. AC or DC I forget... I believe the 2 9V batteries are to run one of the amps... the tristereo or the regular eq preamp.  i can check maybe by the weekend.  There's 2 power supplies as the preamp is active and so is the tristereo.
Retro Rentals
Vintage Music Gear

http://www.RetroRentals.net
(818) 806-9606
info@retrorentals.net

FB: https://www.facebook.com/retrorentals.net/
IG: @RetroRentalsNet

Offline jim

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/cyberjimpatterson
dyno tri-stereo tremolo
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2007, 08:26:33 PM »
that would help me out massively if you get a chance to have a look,
thanks.

Offline axg20202

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
dyno tri-stereo tremolo
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2007, 05:06:24 AM »
I'm not speaking from knowlegde about this unit (i've never seen inside one), but from what you say about the board stating +7.5 and -7.5v, at a guess I would say that the circuit probably requires a bipolar DC supply, otherwise it would just say ~7.5v. I would need to see the circuit to be certain.

What is the "diode config" you mention? I would have thought that a network of  diodes would be there to rectify the AC transformer output (probably in the region of 12v AC) to a DC voltage, probably followed by two 7.5 volt regulators (one for the + voltage, another for the negative voltage). Just some random thoughts.

If there is a transformer on-board, followed by a rectifiying diode network, followed by the voltage regulators, it would mean the actual input to the unit (i.e. the input to the transformer primaries) will be AC - the amount of AC required will be determined by the transformer rating - it may not necessarily be mains AC - you need to check this out as it may require say a 15V AC supply. If on the other hand none of this stuff is on the board, then the board will probably need to be fed power form a separate bipolar power supply (which contains all the above components), which puts out the bipolar DC voltages required.


Andy.

Offline jim

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 743
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/cyberjimpatterson
dyno tri-stereo tremolo
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2007, 08:55:42 AM »
an excellent rant, thankyou.

Offline Groove4Hire

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
    • http://www.vintagebua.no
dyno tri-stereo tremolo
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2007, 12:43:09 PM »
Dyno Pre amps and Tri Stereo Tremolo aren't very picky when it comes to power input... You can use whatever between 15 and 18VAC to run these units. The Tri Stereo Tremolo needs a separate power unit.
Jon
Rhodes-tech, www.vintagebua.no, Norway

Offline jazzclave

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Tri-Stereo Tremolo ... Schematic Anyone ?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2008, 05:29:24 PM »
Does anybody have schematic (s) for the tri-stereo-tremolo or and the Pro-Piano PreAmp ?
I would like to add battery capability to the tremolo, as the 16 vac power supply makes it a little "buzzy". its o.k. for gigs but not for recording....

Offline Groove4Hire

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
    • http://www.vintagebua.no
dyno tri-stereo tremolo
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2008, 04:30:03 AM »
You probably need to look into some of the components to find the fault for that buzz... My electronics guy has rebuilt a couple of these for me so I'll see if I can get a schematic and some info from him...
Jon
Rhodes-tech, www.vintagebua.no, Norway

Offline jazzclave

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
dyno supply / schematics
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2008, 11:07:59 AM »
What I probably want to do is this,  Come up with a bipolar power supply which will power both pre and tremelo rails...., and allow me to provide an earth ground for 0v , the local flea market has an unlimited supply of wall-wart type adapters for a buck or 2, some quite sophisticated (+/- vdc).
When these dyno units were built, there was a limited source of power supply options, I took a look at the circuit board, only 2 diodes ... a buzzy half wave rectifier, ...buzzy !