News:

Don't forget to read the forum rules.

Main Menu

Wurlitzer sustain question

Started by bakesale, June 17, 2008, 08:24:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bakesale

I'm new to my recently purchased Wurli 200a so excuse me if this is a daft question...
- when I depress the sustain pedal the lowest A and the lowest E flat depress automatically ,effectively muting them-
Is this -normal and or fixable?

cheers
matt[/b]

pianotuner steveo

no, it is not normal, and I'm sure it's fixable. The screws on the back of the dampers may be turned down too tight,or it could be something else.unfortunately its very difficult to troubleshoot mechanical problems in a wurli without seeing what is happening,

Can you be more specific as to what happens?

(Do you have the cover and static shield removed?)
1960 Wurlitzer model 700 EP
1968 Gibson G101 Combo organ
1975 Rhodes Piano Bass
1979 Wurlitzer 206A EP
1980 Wurlitzer 270 Butterfly Grand
2009 73A Rhodes Mark 7
2009 Korg SV-1 73
2017 Yamaha P255
2020 Kawai CA99
....and a few guitars...

bakesale

No haven't been game to open it up as yet-but will soon pluck up the courage and check back in. Any tips for getting the top off???
Please excuse my total inexperience with this thing!
Basically with each push of the sustain pedal the two keys I mentioned drop (as though I have played them and have my fingers pressing down on the keys)-.
Pushing he pedal actually 'plays' these two notes as well-ie you can here these notes whenever the pedal is depressed. The harder I press on the pedal with each push, the louder the notes created.

Thanks for your reply -will check back in soon

cheers
m

pianotuner steveo