News:

Shipping now! "Classic Keys" book, a celebration of vintage keyboards  More...

Main Menu

Welcome to The Electric Piano Forum!

Started by Cormac Long, September 23, 2010, 06:21:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cormac Long

Hi folks,
   my name is Cormac Long and I'm the new host for this forum on the Fender Rhodes. I'm Irish, based in Ireland and own and play a Rhodes piano. I'm not a tech and have absolutely no commercial interests with regards to this forum.

I bought a 1974 Mark 1 SP 88 in August 2010 and have been restoring it bit by bit since then. Its a slow and painful process. I'm learning lots as I go. I'm sure it will take forever, will never play as well as the works of art that several of the pros have produced. But this is what you do on a budget!. As it turns out, it will only ever be used at home. I'm not a professional musician. Just someone that lacks a lot of practice and plays a bit at home.

I found the Rhodes Super Site forum to be pure gold in terms of a reference on all things Rhodes, especially the tips on restoration. When I found out that James Garfield was looking for a new forum host , I thought I could help. I have previous experience hosting forums. I already have the hosting space for other projects I run. So honestly, its no big deal to do this. I'm getting as much if not more back as I'm putting in.

So with the permission of James, I migrated the phpBB forum archives into this forum. This forum is based on Simple Machines Forum, otherwise known as SMF. Its software I've used before in other jobs, so its what I know. It very conveniently provided an import utility to convert the phpBB database contents into its own format. It transferred all posts, user accounts etc. So the wealth of information is preserved.

We did do some cleanup.. all accounts that never posted were deleted (over 2000 of them). Lots of spam posts were deleted. There are probably more still lurking there in the archives.