Author Topic: "Pre Amp Output" / "Power Amp Input" on Janus Suitcase amp??  (Read 2326 times)

Offline SuitcaseSeventyThree

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
"Pre Amp Output" / "Power Amp Input" on Janus Suitcase amp??
« on: November 01, 2012, 03:55:21 PM »
  Even after prolonged and extensive searching,
haven't been able to find (so far) a definitive answer for this :

Instrument: Rhodes Suitcase 73, 5-pin Janus Amp, slider pre-amp.

 As we know, on the amp's panel are two pairs of jacks.
  One pair (Channel A, and Channel B) is labelled "Pre Amp Output" ,
 and the
other pair (Channel A, and Channel B) is labelled "Power Amp Input" .

  I'm sorry, fellas, but I'm confused here.
To me, anyways, this is about as clear as mud.
Is it actually as it seems?

  Thinking in the context of Stereo,
is the "Pre Amp Output" 
  - (un-)amplified "line outs" (to another component)?
and the "Power Amp Input" - 
  - "line ins" from an (un-)amplified source? 

 What does Rhodes' terminology mean here?
What are they for, exactly?

Offline Ben Bove

  • Vendor
  • MIDI Mark V
  • *****
  • Posts: 3279
  • Formerly bjammerz
    • View Profile
    • Retro Rentals Website
Re: "Pre Amp Output" / "Power Amp Input" on Janus Suitcase amp??
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2012, 12:24:57 PM »
I hadn't paid much attention before to that diagram you have posted - but it appears the concept behind them was to be able to operate stereo effects pedals - being that the "accessory jack" up top was only mono, and it comes before the preamp in the signal chain (the accessory jack pedal would only affect the sound directly off the harp, not after the preamp affects the tone).  It would effectively place effects pedals after the preamp modified the sound in the signal chain directly into the poweramp.  This would also make sense as to why an AC input plug was added, to power these stereo effects pedals or other.  But they specifically only refer to it as handling stereo effects in and outs.

You can also use the Preamp outputs as line outs for recording.  One thing to note is on the power amp inputs - when you plug a digital keyboard into channel A for example, it actually cuts that channel out of the Rhodes sound.  So you'd have channel A keyboard, channel B Rhodes (vibrato would be mono one side).  If you plug your digital keyboard in both channel A and B, you'll have no Rhodes and 2 channels of keyboard.  So the poweramp inputs really aren't meant to accept another device's line input because it won't be in tandem with the Rhodes sound, that would have been a handy idea for multi-keyboardists.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2012, 01:04:55 PM by bjammerz »
Retro Rentals
Vintage Music Gear

http://www.RetroRentals.net
(818) 806-9606
info@retrorentals.net

FB: https://www.facebook.com/retrorentals.net/
IG: @RetroRentalsNet

Offline SuitcaseSeventyThree

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: "Pre Amp Output" / "Power Amp Input" on Janus Suitcase amp??
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2012, 09:03:40 AM »
bjammerz :

  Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your understanding of this, Bro.

  It's always a "challenge" to (try to help a guy) think stuff (like this) out.
 
First - ya gotta grasp what the other guy's driving at.
Then - ya gotta figure out an appropriate explanation
          (and, hopefully, a solution) to the particular problem.
And then (perhaps the hardest part) - ya gotta put these concepts into words
          (not to mention write 'em down in a post : )
          that can be understood by the person that you're trying to help!

  =    We appreciate your effort(s) here, man!   :) 8)

Offline SuitcaseSeventyThree

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: "Pre Amp Output" / "Power Amp Input" on Janus Suitcase amp??
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2012, 10:57:50 AM »
Sorry guys ... redundant info!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2012, 08:04:18 PM by SuitcaseSeventyThree »

Offline SuitcaseSeventyThree

  • Pre-Piano
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: "Pre Amp Output" / "Power Amp Input" on Janus Suitcase amp??
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2012, 02:20:36 PM »
This'un too!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2012, 08:04:53 PM by SuitcaseSeventyThree »

Offline goldphinga

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
Re: "Pre Amp Output" / "Power Amp Input" on Janus Suitcase amp??
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2017, 04:11:41 AM »
Just to say I had my tech modify my Janus amp so that it doesn't cut the rhodes sound when jacks are plugged in.