Keys shouldn't touch front rail felt?

Started by paulskiogorki, August 07, 2015, 02:09:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

paulskiogorki

Hi there

Brand new to the forum - hi ya. I'm a (acoustic) piano technician working on Rhodes occasionally.

Right now I have a Stage in my shop with pretty uneven touch. As a piano tech, I was surprised to see that the keys don't touch the felt on the front rail when you press them down, which isn't anything like on an acoustic.

One of the Vintage Vibe videos says this is by design and the key shouldn't touch the punching or it will 'impede stop block'.

Can anyone elaborate on this for me?

Thanks

Paul
www.clementpiano.com

pianotuner steveo

Hi Paul, I am also an acoustic piano tech that works on EPs a little (back in the '70s and '80's there was a much higher demand for EP service in my area)

As dumb as it sounds, that is correct, the Rhodes keys are not supposed to touch the front rail punchings. Their way of setting dip is by adjusting the key height with the back rail cloth, which in turn sets the dip.  I don't agree with their methods, but that is the way they designed it.
1960 Wurlitzer model 700 EP
1968 Gibson G101 Combo organ
1975 Rhodes Piano Bass
1979 Wurlitzer 206A EP
1980 Wurlitzer 270 Butterfly Grand
2009 73A Rhodes Mark 7
2009 Korg SV-1 73
2017 Yamaha P255
2020 Kawai CA99
....and a few guitars...

paulskiogorki

Thanks for the reply sir.

Dip is pretty much OK on this beast but the front rail felt is not in good shape. Is there a spec for what thickness to use or how much gap is desired between the key bottom and felt on the down stroke?

pianotuner steveo

I generally use mediums. I don't think the amount of gap matters, they just don't want the key hitting the felt as it does in acoustics.
1975 Rhodes Piano Bass
1979 Wurlitzer 206A EP
2009 73A Rhodes Mark 7
2009 Korg SV-1 73
2017 Yamaha P255
2020 Kawai CA99
....and a few guitars...

David Aubke