Author Topic: Pianet Specs for DIY Instrument  (Read 804 times)

Offline mitchamtuell

• Pre-Piano
    • View Profile
Pianet Specs for DIY Instrument
« on: February 15, 2018, 10:01:24 AM »
Hey!

I'm a young engineer and musician and I'm always working on various DIY projects, largely music related. The most recent project to pique my interest is building an electromechanical piano. My running plan is to convert this MIDI keyboard I have into an instrument that functions like a Pianet, while preserving MIDI functionality. I'm choosing the Pianet design because I think building a hammer and damper mechanism like a Wurli or Rhodes will be very difficult, but I think I can make simple modifications to the existing keyboard to reasonably achieve the more simplistic Pianet design. Plus, I think Pianets sound cool. I've also got a few ideas for how to incorporate a sustain pedal...

I'm working through the different design elements in my plan and there are two things I don't have a plan for: reeds/tines and pickups

I have access to a water jet cutter, so making the reeds should be pretty straightforward, but I don't know their dimensions or material. Does anyone have information on the specs of the original Pianet reeds? What about Wurlitzer? Vintage Vibe has some great information about Wurli reeds, including a chart of their length and width and some thickness measurements. If I can't find info about Pianet reeds I may just make them to the Wurli size and still use the Pianet sticky hammer mechanism. I've heard Wurli tines are made of "Sandvik" spring steel. Can anyone confirm, or specify which alloy?