Author Topic: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?  (Read 593 times)

Offline d-rock

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« on: April 23, 2018, 10:33:09 AM »
I play my '75 MKI Rhodes through a couple effects...Boss TR-2 Tremolo, Small Stone, etc. for that kind of goodness.

Since the Rhodes is quiet and pretty dark naturally, I also use a Tech21 Liverpool as a preamp to bring the signal up and introduce some top end sparkle. The only problem is when I boost the signal I get hiss.

Does anyone run a Noise Suppressor with your other effects to quiet your Rhodes?

Offline pnoboy

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
Re: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2018, 11:41:37 AM »
I play my '75 MKI Rhodes through a couple effects...Boss TR-2 Tremolo, Small Stone, etc. for that kind of goodness.

Since the Rhodes is quiet and pretty dark naturally, I also use a Tech21 Liverpool as a preamp to bring the signal up and introduce some top end sparkle. The only problem is when I boost the signal I get hiss.

Does anyone run a Noise Suppressor with your other effects to quiet your Rhodes?

I wonder if the problem is the Tech21 preamp.  I run my Rhodes with plenty of high end and don't get hiss.  BTW, I assume you run the signal through the Tech21 before the other pedals?

Offline d-rock

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2018, 02:22:03 PM »
Yes, I run the T21 first. I don't seem to get that much hiss when played with guitar. I am not boosting the signal nearly as much though.

Offline The Real MC

  • Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
    • View Profile
    • My '67 sparkletop Rhodes
Re: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2018, 08:41:34 PM »
The pickups on the rhodes are very sensitive to the input impedance of a processor or direct interface or amp.  With the wrong input impedance, they can produce more noise.  The better solution is a DI with input impedance of 1Mohm or higher.

Offline pnoboy

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
Re: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2018, 03:39:25 PM »
OTOH, the Peterson, Janus, stage, and late Mark II pianos all had input impedances way below 1 Meg, and I don't recall them being noisy.  That's certainly true for the stage piano.

Offline Mike Borish

  • Vendor
  • Fiesta Red
  • *****
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • Borish Electronics
Re: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2018, 03:52:54 PM »
Noise is usually other gear or bad ground connections on the Rhodes.  Rhodes pianos are dead quiet when set up properly.
www.borishelectronics.com

We're a Chicago company that repairs amps, pro audio, DJ gear & synths!

Offline pnoboy

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
Re: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2018, 02:54:16 PM »
Noise is usually other gear or bad ground connections on the Rhodes.  Rhodes pianos are dead quiet when set up properly.

Yes, that's been my experience, also.

Offline d-rock

  • Fiesta Red
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Noise Suppressor for your Rhodes?
« Reply #7 on: Today at 08:17:40 PM »
Looks like my hiss was the Tech21 after all. I've been using a boost pedal to get my volume up in its place but am still looking for a good EQ pedal to bring out some highs.