Author Topic: Harp suddenly not working... :(  (Read 407 times)

Offline JanustheManus

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
  • 1977 Mark 1 Stage w/ Stereo Vibe
    • View Profile
Harp suddenly not working... :(
« on: July 09, 2018, 08:34:28 PM »
Hello all on the forum!
I hate to bother you for such a small problem (I think) but my harp suddenly went silent. I ruled out the preamp, and I plugged in an RCA-1/4 adapter directly into the harp but no audible sound (except for some pickup clicking). I saw no visible breaks in the natural way the pickups were wired.
I think the problem exists because I was replacing escapement screw grommets; so that might have fouled up the pickups...
Is there a good way to remedy this? I'll be more careful (promise!)

Thanks

Patrick
Why didn't Fender Rhodes stick with the lovely reflective Sparkle Top rail?

Offline 4kinga

  • Sparkletop
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Harp suddenly not working... :(
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2018, 08:21:36 AM »
I had this happen when a few pickup coils opened up near the end/beginning of a series.  I used an alligator clip jumper to locate the break and replaced those pickups from there.  (Actually, it was at a gig.  I left the jumper on to make it through and replaced them later.)

Offline JanustheManus

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
  • 1977 Mark 1 Stage w/ Stereo Vibe
    • View Profile
Re: Harp suddenly not working... :(
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2018, 12:27:27 PM »
 Whew that's rough! So the pickups themselves unwound? I'll try some alligator clips, and then some eventual but near pickup replacement...

Thanks!
Why didn't Fender Rhodes stick with the lovely reflective Sparkle Top rail?

Offline JanustheManus

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
  • 1977 Mark 1 Stage w/ Stereo Vibe
    • View Profile
Re: Harp suddenly not working... :(
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2018, 01:03:36 PM »
BTW how would you use an alligator clip to test for a break? I have some but don't know how to use them yet.
Why didn't Fender Rhodes stick with the lovely reflective Sparkle Top rail?

Offline 4kinga

  • Sparkletop
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Harp suddenly not working... :(
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2018, 02:46:00 PM »
The lead wire (on the first wrap, not the last unfortunately!) closest to the mounting screw corrodes and eventually breaks. It can be hard to see sometimes. 
For testing, I just clipped a lead onto the treble end, played a chord in the middle and started working the other end down the pickups at random intervals until I heard sound.  Then I worked my way backup each pickup from there until I found the open pickups.  Not so scientific, but I found them!

Offline JanustheManus

  • Mark I
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
  • 1977 Mark 1 Stage w/ Stereo Vibe
    • View Profile
Re: Harp suddenly not working... :(
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2018, 07:40:12 PM »
Thank you so much! I did however pack my Rhodes away in a corner now to take it to Vintage Keyboard Repair in SF (the guy is really good). I appreciate the wealth of your knowledge! But I will just leave Rhodes work to the guys who know what they're doing... (I'll do the playing!)
Why didn't Fender Rhodes stick with the lovely reflective Sparkle Top rail?