Author Topic: Cembalet CF  (Read 275 times)

Offline theseacowexists

• Fiesta Red
    • View Profile
Cembalet CF
« on: October 23, 2018, 07:38:09 PM »
Hey gang, just got a Hohner Cembalet CF! Not a C, but a CF. Of course, I'm having some issues with the electronics right out of the box (as expected).

http://hohner-cembalet.com/hohner_cembalet/Cembalet_CF.html

It powers up and does nothing but hum - no keyboard signal. Replaced the e-caps and resistors, same deal. The original volume pot had been removed and jumped together. Installing a replacement 250K pot did not make a difference, and does not affect the hum level when turned.

The vibrato bulb is burned out. I have a Cembalet N which does not have a working vibrato bulb, this does not stop the keyboard from working, it just means that I don't have a vibrato option, so I am assuming this one must work the same, and that the dead bulb is not my problem.

There is no voltage at the pickup. My DMM shows continuity between the pickup and the reeds. Even with the preamp unhooked from the pickup and reeds, their hookups on the board still show continuity, so it's not anything with the harp itself. I've never seen any of the other non-Pianet T Hohners behave this way. But this model has a strange coil thing in parallel with the reeds and pickup, which if I'm understanding the schematic correctly, would explain the continuity.

Anyone have experience with these? The Pianet CH is apparently the same design. What's the next thing I should look at here? I'll look closer at them, but the transistors seem to have appropriate voltage readings.

Thanks!

Offline OZDOC

• Mark I
    • View Profile
Re: Cembalet CF
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2018, 10:00:29 PM »
This sounds obvious - but are you sure that none of the reeds are shorted against the pick-up tabs?

Offline theseacowexists

• Fiesta Red
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2018, 06:12:15 AM »