Author Topic: Custom Paint Job on Harp Cover  (Read 277 times)

Offline armstrongsound

• Fiesta Red
    • View Profile
Custom Paint Job on Harp Cover
« on: February 05, 2019, 01:23:41 PM »
Hey Rhodes-Land.

I recently started playing in a soul-revival/blues band here in Texas and found out that the Drummer owns a body paint shop. Naturally I asked him if he'd ever done any instruments before and then proceeded to see what he would charge to do my harp cover.

Well, needless to say, he had all the paint already in the shop from a previous project so he didn't charge me anything but a case of beer.

Pretty stoked on how it came out!
1970 Fender Rhodes Mk I Seventy-Three Suitcase (no suitcase amp)
1968 Fender Vibrolux (aa864 circuit)
1947 Hammond CV
1947 Hammond DR-20
1970s Leslie 760
1969 Hammond T202
1956 Hammond S6
1982 Kustom 88
90s Young Chang Upright
Hohner Melodica

Offline sean

• Mark II
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Paint Job on Harp Cover
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2019, 02:21:49 PM »

Looks awesome.

Next step might be snakeskin burgundy Tolex.  https://www.speakerbuildersupply.com/Python-snakeskin-pattern-tolex-in-burgundy-p/tpbu35.htm
or http://www.speakerbuildersupply.com/Wine-Taurus-leather-look-tolex-p/ttbu37.htm

Then all you need is a replacement E and L, so that you can restore the "Eleventy Three" logo on the front.

Sean

Offline armstrongsound

• Fiesta Red
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2019, 02:29:53 PM »
Sean,
That snakeskin tolex would really take this piano to "the next level" lol.

Actually the stock tolex on the piano right now is in surprisingly good shape! I might consider going with a tolex job after this year's gigging season, we'll see! Although, personally, I would go with a more "conservative" design, (flat colors for sure! LOL)

Also concerning the logo-